Starting in 1978, the original twelve statutorily-established inspectors general laid the groundwork for protecting taxpayer dollars by detecting and preventing fraud, waste, and abuse in the federal government. Forty years later, the current inspectors general remain committed to promoting the integrity and efficiency of government operations and programs.

View below biographies of the original twelve inspectors general, as well as early semiannual reports produced by their respective offices.

General Services Administration - Kurt W. MuellenbergEnvironmental Protection Agency - Inez Smith ReidDepartment of Labor - Marjorie F. KnowlesNational Aeronautics and Space Administration - Eldon D. TaylorDepartment of Interior - June Gibbs BrownDepartment of Housing and Urban Development - Charles L. DempseyDepartment of Agriculture - Thomas R. McBrideVeteran Administration - Allan L. ReynoldsDepartment of Transportation - Frank S. SatoCommunity Services Administration - Frankie M. FreemanSmall Business Administration - Paul R. BoucherDepartment of Commerce - Mary P. Bass